Restore previous session – Configure when Firefox shows your most recent tabs and windows | How to
Restore previous session – Configure when Firefox shows your most recent tabs and windows
Firefox can restore all windows and tabs that were open when it was last closed or terminated unexpectedly. This article describes the circumstances under which Firefox will restore your previous session and how you can configure it.
Note: Session Restore may keep you logged in to sites that you were logged in to before you closed Firefox. For more information, see Privacy issues .
Table of Contents
When session restore occurs
When you select Restore Previous Session from the default home page
If you had tabs and windows open when you last closed Firefox, the default Firefox home page will have a Restore Previous Session button on it. To get your tabs and windows back, just click it.
Note: If you’ve set your home page to something other than the default Firefox home page, you can restore the default home page .
When you select Restore Previous Session from the History menu
Here’s how to get your tabs and windows from a previous session back if you don’t use the default Firefox home page:
After installing an add-on
When a new extension or theme is installed, you must restart Firefox to enable the new add-on. To restart, click Restart Now. All windows and tabs are re-opened when Firefox restarts and installs the new add-on.
After a software update
To apply any updates to the Firefox application that have been downloaded, you must restart Firefox. To restart, click Restart Firefox to Update.
After restarting with add-ons disabled
After a crash
Due to unexpected issues such as problems with a website, software errors, or an accidental loss of power, Firefox may unexpectedly close. In these situations, Firefox can restore the pages that you were visiting when it is restarted. Firefox will automatically restore your previous session, the first time you launch it after a crash.
If Firefox crashes a second time, the Restore Session (i.e. “Well, this is embarrassing “) page will appear when you next launch Firefox.
- To restore your previous session, select the windows or tabs you want to restore and click Restore.
- If Firefox continues to experience errors when windows and tabs are re-opened, you can launch Firefox without restoring these items. To start a new session, click Close.
When you’ve set Firefox to show your windows and tabs from last time
You can set Firefox to always show your windows and tabs from your previous session each time you start Firefox. To change your Firefox startup settings, see Configuring session restore. below.
Configuring session restore
By default, when Firefox starts, a single window is opened, displaying your specified home page. If you wish, you can configure Firefox to open all windows and tabs from your previous session:
Session Restore may keep you logged in to sites that you were logged in to before you closed Firefox. If someone else used your computer after you, they could access your account on these sites. If this is a concern then you should not configure Firefox to open all windows and tabs from your previous session.
You may also wish to disable the Session Restore crash recovery feature which is enabled by default. This will prevent restoring a previous session when Firefox is opened after an unexpected close or software crash:
In the address bar. type about:config and press Enter Return.
- The about:config “This might void your warranty!” warning page may appear. Click I’ll be careful, I promise! I accept the risk! to continue to the about:config page.
Previous session not correctly closed
To get your tabs and windows back from a previous session, you should close Firefox from the menu: Click the menu button and then click Exit Quit . If you close each window or tab, only the tabs in the final window that you close are available when you restart Firefox.
Settings may be incorrect
For other session restore problems, you may need to make corrections to your Firefox settings:
- Click the menu button and choose Options. Preferences.
- Select the Privacy panel and make sure Firefox will: is set to either Remember history or Use custom settings for history.
- If Firefox will: is set to Use custom settings for history then make sure that Permanent Private Browsing mode is not selected.
- If Firefox will: is set to Use custom settings for history and Clear history when Firefox closes is selected, then click the Settings button and make sure that Browsing History is not selected.
- Close the about:preferences page. Any changes you’ve made will automatically be saved.
Was this article helpful?
Last Update: 2016-10-11