Finance

Feb 14 2018

Find Cheap Car Insurance in New York, The Zebra, car insurance ny state.#Car #insurance #ny #state


New York Car Insurance

Compare rates from 8 car insurance companies in New York.

Your information is secure.

Here’s what you need to know when driving in New York

Across the Empire State, there are 242,769 miles of road just waiting to be driven. We’ll get you prepped, then you take the wheel.

Car Insurance Laws

State minimum insurance requirements in New York

In New York, the state minimum coverage requirements are as follows:
Liability
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $10,000 per accident
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $50,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • $50,000 per person
Optional coverage in New York (varies by carrier):
  • Comprehensive
  • Collision
  • Loan/Lease Payoff
  • Medical Payments
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Supplemental Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury (SUM)
  • Additional Personal Injury Protection (APIP)
  • Optional Basic Economic Loss (OBEL)

Liability coverage is legally required in New York and pays for injury and lost wages that you cause to another driver or their passengers as well as damage to the other driver’s vehicle in the event that you are considered “at fault” in an accident. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into three categories. In New York, the minimum is listed as 25/50/10 and explained below:

$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person that you injure in an auto accident.

$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries that you cause in an accident if more than one person is hurt.

$10,000 property damage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for damage that you cause in an accident.

Uninsured Motorist coverage is legally required in New York and pays for injury and lost wages that you or your passengers may suffer in the event that you are hit by an uninsured driver who is at fault. The coverage limits are determined by each individual state and normally split into two categories. In New York, the minimum is listed as 30/60 and explained below:

$25,000 bodily injury coverage per person. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for a single person injured in your vehicle by an uninsured driver.

$50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. This is the maximum dollar amount that pays for all injuries in your vehicle by an uninsured driver if more than one person is hurt.

Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for medical costs that you and your passengers incur in an accident regardless of fault. PIP will cover medical expenses such as hospital bills, rehabilitation costs, and even work loss resulting from an accident. In New York, minimum PIP coverage of $50,000 per person is required on your policy.

These numbers reflect the minimum limits required in New York but higher coverage amounts are available with most companies.

New York is a no fault state!

What does this mean for you?

Put simply, a no-fault insurance laws system requires that drivers carry their own protection. When an accident happens, no matter who is at fault, your own insurance foots the bill. Each driver takes care of his or herself, and theoretically, the chances of someone suing or raising a hissy fit over culpability are lessened. And bonus? It guarantees every driver immediate medical treatment in the event of an accident.

Top New York Car Insurance Companies

The Zebra compares over 200 companies 1,800 products, so you can save way more than 15%.

Car insurance ny state

Allstate

Car insurance ny state

Liberty Mutual

Car insurance ny state


Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: