#filing #bankruptcy #in #mn
Filing Bankruptcy in Minnesota
Updated May 24, 2016
Bankruptcy is a system of federal law, so the process to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy or to file for Chapter 13 bankruptcy is nearly identical in every state, including Minnesota. However, state law plays an important role, particularly in setting property exemptions, which determine what property you get to keep (if you file for Chapter 7) and how much you have to repay your creditors (if you file for Chapter 13). There are also important resources available to you by state.
Before you file for Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy in Minnesota, you will have to complete mandatory credit counseling with an agency that s been approved by the United States Trustee s Office. Here s a list of agencies in Minnesota that have been approved to provide this counseling.
Where to File
In Minnesota, the bankruptcy courts are in Duluth, Minneapolis, and St. Paul. At the court s website. you can find information on forms, local rules, and more.
Like every other state, Minnesota has its own set of property exemptions. (To learn more about how property exemptions work generally and which exemptions you may use, see Bankruptcy Exemptions: What Do I Keep When I File for Bankruptcy?)
In Minnesota, you may use either the Minnesota state exemptions, or the federal bankruptcy exemptions.
Minnesota permits debtors to exempt up to $390,000 of a home and the land it is on. If that land is used for agricultural purposes, the exemption increases to $975,000. However, the property cannot exceed 1/2 of an acre in the city, and 160 acres elsewhere. Spouses may not double these amounts.
Minnesota also exempts various items of personal property to a total of $10,350 (including appliances, furniture, and jewelry), a motor vehicle to $4,600, wedding rings to $2,817.50, tools of the trade to $13,000 total, and certain wages, among other things. Here s a list of Minnesota exemptions.
The Means Test
When you file for bankruptcy, you must compare your income to the median income for a household of your size in Minnesota. If your income is less than the median, you will be eligible to file for Chapter 7 and, if you choose to file for Chapter 13, you can use a three-year repayment plan (rather than five years).
Currently, the median Minnesota income for a one-person household is around $51,000; these figures change frequently. You can find the most recent amounts on the website of the U.S. Trustee at www.justice.gov/ust. Click on Means Testing Information.
After you file for bankruptcy but before you receive your discharge, you must take a debtor education course. Like the mandatory credit counseling you must take before filing your forms, you must receive debtor education from an agency approved by the U.S. Trustee s Office. Here a list of agencies approved to provide this course in Minnesota.
Getting Help From a Bankruptcy Lawyer
If you’re considering bankruptcy, you may want to talk to an experienced Minnesota bankruptcy lawyer .