#vehicle insurance quotes
New Jersey car insurance quotes
New Jersey Car Insurance Quotes multiple companies (856) 863-5654.
Are you looking to find the lowest cost affordable NJ Car Insurance quotes online. If you are looking for cheap car insurance in NJ. we are consistently locating the lowest price from leading NJ car insurance companies in New Jersey. Many times customers get online quotes and are ultimately asked to pay a higher price than that quoted. Customers need to be upfront with the initial quote and even during the policy period or they may be notified of rate increases due to incomplete driving history and similar points or moving violation issues.
The New Jersey Car Insurance Basic Policy
The NJ Basic auto policy provides $5,000 worth of coverage for damage you may cause to another s property when the accident is your fault. It also provides $15,000 in medical coverage. Unless you purchase additional liability coverage, it does not provide any coverage if you injure someone in an accident that is your fault. The Basic Policy should be considered by those with few family responsibilities and few real assets. It can provide a transition for younger drivers who are just beginning work, providing a basic, minimum protection when they may be least able to afford more comprehensive coverage. The Basic Policy may be purchased through any New Jersey licensed insurance producer. If you do not have any bodily injury liability coverage, you are responsible for paying for the pain, suffering and other personal hardships and some economic damages, such as lost wages, that you cause. The insurer will not provide or pay for a lawyer to represent you if you are sued. Your assets will be at risk, including the risk of having money deducted from your wages if a judgment is entered against you. Additionally, the Basic Policy provides Comprehensive and Collision coverage only as an option at an additional cost. Basic Policy Questions Do you own a home? Do you have dependents? Do you have significant assets? If you answer no to at least two of these questions, you should consider whether a Basic Policy is right for you Significant savings (20% or greater savings) on the total cost of your Auto Insurance Policy if you are purchasing insurance for the first time. If you are currently insured, the savings will be dependent on the choices you made on your current policy.
What you should know about driving uninsured in the State of New Jersey!
Driving without auto insurance is against the law in the state of New Jersey, and the penalties for driving uninsured are getting more severe. Persons caught driving uninsured already face the mandatory loss of driving privileges for a year. A second offense brings 14 days in jail.
New Jersey s auto insurance reforms have made impoundment of uninsured vehicles swifter and more certain.
New Jersey car insurance companies offer many options for getting insured. If you have few assets or none at all, the NJ Basic Car Insurance Policy, which offers minimum limit liability, might be right for you. Or, New Jersey s Special Automobile Insurance Policy (NJSAIP), which provides emergency and catastrophic care, is available for eligible federal Medicaid recipients.
Liability-Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability
The amount of liability coverage you select will affect the price you pay. The cost of liability coverage is affected by the amount of coverage you choose and the risk you present to an insurer, due to factors that include your driving record, your payment history, and how your vehicle is used. There are two kinds of liability coverage: Bodily Injury and Property Damage. Choosing lower limits will save money. Before making your selection, consider: The value of your home, if you are the owner. The value of other assets you need to protect. Your current and future income. Your responsibilities to care for other family members. If you do not own a home, have limited income and few assets to protect, you may want to consider the Basic Policy. With the Standard Policy, there are many factors to consider. If you own a home that is worth less than $100,000 you may want to consider liability limits of $100,000 or less. If you own a home worth more than $100,000, have other assets, and the prospect of higher future earnings, your insurance company or agent would likely recommend liability coverage of at least $100,000.
Selecting Your Health Care Option known as NJPIP NJ Personal Injury Protection.
Do you have NJ Group Health insurance? If so, you may be able to designate your health insurer as your primary source of medical care should you be injured in an accident. This can yield significant premium savings, but you must ask yourself some questions before making this decision. Does your health insurer cover injuries from an automobile accident? You can not select Medicare or Medicaid as your primary health insurer for auto accidents. However, Medicare or Medicaid may pay some costs not covered by the primary insurer. If your health insurer provides coverage, what are the requirements for deductibles, co-payments, and pre-certification? What is the maximum amount your health insurer will pay if you are in an accident? If you are satisfied that your health insurer would provide adequate coverage if you are in an accident, compare the health benefits to those provided through Personal Injury Protection, or PIP. PIP pays if you or others covered under your policy are injured in an automobile accident. It is sometimes called no-fault coverage because it pays your own medical costs no matter who caused the accident. PIP has two parts (1) coverage for your medical bills and (2) reimbursement for certain other expenses you may have because you are hurt, such as lost wages and the need to hire someone to take care of your home or family.
Most New Jersey drivers buy $250,000 worth of PIP, a higher amount than drivers typically purchase in other states.
New Jersey requires drivers to have auto insurance, but some motorists drive illegally without it. In addition, you may be involved in an accident while traveling in another state, where less coverage is required. A common misunderstanding is that uninsured motorist coverage pays for the person who is driving illegally. This is not true this coverage pays you and others in your car if you are involved in an accident in which the other driver is uninsured. Similarly, underinsured motorist coverage protects you if there is an accident and the other driver is legally insured, but has less liability coverage than you do. If your damages are greater than the limits of the other driver s policy, you can make a claim for the balance to your insurer. Your claim cannot exceed the difference between your liability limit and that of the other driver.
If you have a Standard Policy, a minimum amount of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required. You can purchase higher limits if you want additional coverage. You may choose one of the following higher limits of Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage, up to your Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Limit. Choose the limit you want when your are purchasing your policy. $35,000 $50,000 $100,000 $300,000 $500,000
Comprehensive and Collision Coverage otherwise mistakenly know as Full Coverage.
Besides liability and medical coverage, the other major area of coverage pays for damage to your vehicle. Collision coverage pays for damage caused by an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage caused by something other than an accident, such as a window damaged during a break-in or a tree limb landing on your car. Often called comp-and-collision, this coverage is not required by law, but is required by your finance company or bank if you are still making payments on your car. You can save money by dropping comp-and-collision coverage. Some insurers, however, will place you into a less favorable tier if you only buy liability coverage. If you have other negative factors, such as tickets or accidents, investigate all pricing options with your direct writer or agent before making a decision. If you are buying a new or used car, it is important to ask your insurer how your comp-and-collision rates will change. Different models have different rates, depending on repair costs, theft rates, and other factors.
*WARNING: Insurance companies or their producers or representatives shall not be held liable for your choice of lawsuit option (Limited Right to Sue or Unlimited Right to Sue) or for your choices regarding amounts and types of coverage. You cannot sue an insurance company or its producers or representatives if the Limited Right to Sue option is imposed by law because no choice was made on the coverage selection form. Insurers and their producers or representatives can lose this limitation on liability for failing to act in accordance with the law. See N.J.S.A. 17:28-1.9 for more information.