Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheap Car Insurance in Memphis, Tennessee
Want to know more about Memphis and how to get cheap car insurance? Well, a cultural hotspot at the southwest corner of Tennessee, Memphis draws thousands of visitors to landmarks such as Graceland and Sun Studio and events such as the Beale Street Music Festival. The land of blues and barbecue is the largest city located on the Mississippi River, with an estimated population of 653,450 in 2013.
Driving conditions in Memphis
The website, smartway.tn.gov/traffic, displays real-time information on accidents, construction and weather-related delays. These include live streaming cameras and message boards in Memphis. Information is also dispersed through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Twitter account. Drivers can also access road and traveling conditions by calling 511, an automated voice response system through which callers can ask for specific roadways or regions.
Unique laws in Memphis
Tennessee laws forbid anyone to stand on the roadway to solicit either a ride or employment from drivers. Also, if your car s sound system can be heard 50 feet away, it is considered excessive noise. Shooting at game from your car also is illegal.
Memphis crime statistics
Memphis has the dubious honor of being listed on a number of most dangerous city rankings, with chances of being victim of a violent crime being one in 57 compared to the statewide average of one in 163, according to data complied by neighborhoodscout.com. The Memphis metro area was ranked No. 82 on the National Insurance Crime Bureau s most recent list of 100 U.S. cities with the highest vehicle theft rates, with a rate of 260.91 incidents per 100,000 people.
Memphis safety requirements
According to Tennessee state laws, texting while driving is illegal and drivers and passengers must wear seat belts. Motorcyclists and their passengers must wear helmets that meet federal safety standards. Approved car seats are required for children up to age 3, and booster systems are required for those 4 to 8 years old who are under 4 feet, 9 inches tall.
Memphis impaired driving laws
Drivers over 21 with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08 are higher can be charged with driving under the influence, as can those under 21 with a .02 result. First-time offenders are subject to a $350 minimum fine and 48 hours in jail, plus paying for towing and storage. Charges are enhanced if the driver’s BAC is higher than the legal limit or if children in the car at the time of arrest.
Cheapest Car Insurance Quotes in Memphis, TN, cheap car insurance in memphis.