Finance USA

Aug 27 2019

Cheapest Car Insurance in Delaware, cheap car insurance in delaware.

#Cheap #car #insurance #in #delaware



Cheap car insurance in delaware

Cheap car insurance in delaware

Are you overpaying?

Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save

Cheap car insurance in delaware

*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017

Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized

Cheapest Car Insurance in Delaware

Delaware, the nation s First State, led the way in ratifying the United States Constitution in 1787. Only 9 miles wide in some areas, Delaware ranks as the second smallest state in the nation. With farming land in the south and industrial areas in the north, Delaware has variety and appeal for tourists and residents alike. Although it only takes about 2 hours to drive the length of the state, every driver should be certain they are safe, protected and insured. That s why CheapCarInsurance.net has compiled this page of necessary facts for the Delaware driver.

LAWS REGULATIONS

Because of the Atlantic Ocean bordering much of the state, Delaware s weather can change in a flash. Car insurance laws can change almost as fast. So, to help with the confusion, here is a list of the important information for Delaware drivers.

Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Delaware

  • The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) stipulates that liability coverage is required for all vehicles operated in Delaware.
  • Liability Coverage minimums:
    • $15,000 for an individual bodily injury or death.
    • $30,000 for an accident that involves multiple bodily injuries or deaths.
    • $10,000 for property damage.
  • Failure to insure a vehicle will result in a $1,500 fine for the first offense and a $3,000 fine for the second or subsequent offense(s). A 6 month suspension of driving privileges can also be enforced.
  • The state of Delaware also conducts intermittent vehicle insurance audits which can result in the above penalties.

New Driver Licensing Requirements

  • Delaware requires all drivers to obtain a state drivers license within 60 days of arrival. A vision, written and driving test is required for all new drivers; however, an applicant with a current license from another state may be required to only pass the vision test.
  • Applicants between the ages of 16 and 18 may apply for a graduated drivers license which involves obtaining a learner s permit through the following process:
    • Complete a Driver Education course to provide a Delaware Driver Education Certification.
    • The applicant s parent, legal guardian or sponsor must sign the application.
    • The applicant must pass the vision test and provide the $40 license fee.
  • Restrictions for the learner s permit include:
    • Safety belts must be worn by all passengers at all times.
    • All cellphone use including texting is prohibited.
    • During the first 6 months, a supervisor (licensed driver age 25 or older) must accompany the permit holder at all times while driving.
    • The supervisor must document 50 hours of driving time, and this must include 10 hours of night driving.
    • After the first 6 months, the permit holder may drive unsupervised between 6 am and 10 pm.
    • Nighttime driving is permitted only with a supervisor.
    • In addition to the supervisor, only one other passenger is permitted in the vehicle.
    • Once the driver has held the permit for 12 months and is between the ages of 17 and 18, he/she may be eligible for a regular drivers license.
  • New applicants age 18 or over must hold an instruction permit for 6 months prior to taking the road test and obtaining a regular drivers license. Passing the vision and written tests is a requirement to obtain the instruction permit.
  • Vision Screening. Each applicant must be evaluated at a visual acuity of at least 20/40 to pass the Vision Test. A corrective lens restriction is provided for applicants who can pass the test with the lenses. A daylight driving restriction can be placed on a license for applicants with a visual acuity between 20/40 and 20/50. Each applicant will be asked to identify typical traffic signs by shape, color or by the symbols they bear.
  • Written Test. This test evaluates the applicant s knowledge of the Delaware Driver Manual. 24 of the 30 questions on the written test must be answered correctly for the applicant to pass. The Delaware DMV has posted an abbreviated practice test online that can be accessed on the DMV web page
  • Road Test. This test must be taken within 10 days of passing the vision and written tests. The applicant must provide a licensed, registered, insured and safe vehicle for the test. The vehicle must be driven to and from the test center by a licensed driver.The road test requires the applicant to drive for approximately 30 minutes, and it evaluates the applicant s following skills:
    • Parallel parking.
    • Three point turn.
    • Lane changes.
    • Speed control.
    • Traffic merging.
    • Response to traffic signs and signals.
    • Make right and left turns.
    • Back the vehicle 50 feet.
    • Knowledge of vehicle controls.
  • Fees. The drivers license fee is $40, and the license is valid for 8 years.

DUI/DWI Laws

  • BAC limit: .08 According to the Delaware Driver Manual the state has instituted graduated penalties according to the BAC of the driver. Each offense includes a mandatory license revocation, and a license reinstatement fee runs $143.75 in Delaware
  • First Offense:
    • License revocation for the following categories:
      • BAC less than .15, 12 months.
      • BAC between .15 and .19, 18 months.
      • BAC over .20, 24 months.
    • Minimum $500 and maximum $1,500 fine.
    • Imprisonment up to one year.
    • Drivers may opt for a First Offense Election Program; information for which can be accessed on the Delaware DMV website.
  • Second Offense:
    • License revocation for the following categories:
      • BAC less than .15, 18 months.
      • BAC between .15 and .19, 24 months.
      • BAC over .20, 30 months.
    • Minimum $750 and maximum $2,500 fine.
    • Imprisonment from 60 days minimum to 18 months maximum.
  • Third Offense:
    • License revocation for the following categories:
      • BAC less than .15, 24 months.
      • BAC between .15 and .19, 30 months.
      • BAC over .20, 36 months.
    • Maximum $5,000 fine.
    • Imprisonment from 90 days minimum to 24 months maximum.
  • Fourth Offense Felony:
    • License revocation for 60 months regardless of BAC level.
    • Maximum $7,000 fine.
    • Imprisonment from 6 months minimum to 5 years maximum.
  • Additional DUI convictions result in increasing sanctions, fines and lengths of imprisonment. See the Delaware s DMV website for additional information.

Texting Driving Laws

Delaware has banned all handheld devices and all texting from all drivers, according to Distraction.gov. Additionally, all novice drivers and bus drivers are banned from using hands free devices as well.

Unique Laws

Great states make great laws. Well, at least that would make sense, but when a great state like Delaware declares that it is legal to annul a marriage if one claims they were married on a dare, one begins to have doubts! It is also illegal to pretend to sleep on a bench on the boardwalk, and mobile homes (sorry tourists) are illegal in parts of the state!

STATS

Best Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Delaware

New Castle County Car Insurance

The smallest by area and northernmost of the three Delaware counties, New Castle is the most populated, home to more than half a million residents. Its county seat, Wilmington, is the largest city in the state, built on the site of Fort Christina, the first Swedish settlement in North America.

Wilmington is the site of an annual Italian Festival, Greek Festival, Polish Festival and IndiaFest. The Featuring reggae and world beat music, People s Festival serves as a tribute to musician Bob Marley, who lived in Wilmington while trying to earn funds to establish his music studio in Jamaica. The Wilmington Grand Prix is considered a premier bike race and includes a street festival and leisure ride.

#####



Written by FRANCE